Scandinavian Paradise

As a former food and travel writer, I had the chance to see the world not once or twice but many times and the sad thing -which it turn into a pattern- was the fact that my friends or beloved ones were never there to share with me what I was witnessing.

Many photographers are quite reticent at the moment of “revealing” a specific location where a photo was taken; I have even seen myself in this situation before, trying to hide the exact place where I made a certain image. Call it professional secret or a simple survival method for keeping that area away from others.

One of the reasons why I became a photographer was because of all the beauty around us. As a former food and travel writer, I had the chance to see the world not once or twice but many times and the sad thing -which it turn into a pattern- was the fact that my friends or beloved ones were never there to share with me what I was witnessing.

Sunsets in Tauranga, New Zealand; The Alps in winter during a road trip from Regensburg to Vienna; the hot and humid nocturnal route between Hilo and Honolulu; the dramatic cliffs in Ireland or the vast and beautiful Pampa in Argentina. All those scenes forced me to grab the camera and show them they were with me at the moment I pressed the shutter.

All what I said makes impossible to keep a secret about a special spot, hence the reason for me to write this piece.

I have a few rules I try to stick to and one of them is: If you are in a country, go out and visit every single corner and discover new places if possible…a country is not its capital only, that’ a very old centralized concept.

In one of the trips I made with my wife and the in laws to Jylland, my wife showed me a secret place for many people outside Denmark but a pretty known one inside the country. She took me to the Scandinavian Paradise. I never thought I could find white sand dunes in the Nordic Lands. But I did and I fell in love with the place.

According to the official records, the zone is the largest moving dune in Northern Europe, I call it my personal favorite spot in Denmark. Do you know how to keep a secret? The Scandinavian Paradise’s name is Råbjerg Mile.

For more photos visit my gallery.

Twitter | Google+ | Facebook

www.guiiesandgaardferrer.com

Signature Jan15 Black

